Traffic Light Chili

     

This recipe came about when I was on a low-carb diet. I believe the original  was from a Suzanne Somers message board. I think it was without beans since that was the carb that I was staying away from. I love this chili recipe because it is is full of  vegetables and is oh so delicious!

I think the peppers are so pretty chopped all together. Kind of reminds me of fall, just like chili 🙂

I put my chili in a crock pot so I can fix it and forget it until dinner time, but this can also be fixed an hour before you want to eat it…just put it together and let simmer on the stove for 20 to 30 minutes.


Traffic Light Chili Recipe

  • Prep time: 20 minutes
  • Cook time:   4-6 hours in crock pot
  • Yield: Serves 6-10

Ingredients

  • Turkey or lean ground beef
  • 1-28oz  can crushed tomatoes
  • 1-15oz can black beans drained and rinsed
  • 1-15oz can kidney beans drained and rinsed
  • 1-4oz can of diced chili peppers
  • 1 medium onion chopped
  • 1 large red pepper chopped
  • 1 large yellow pepper chopped
  • 1 large green pepper chopped
  • 1 Tbs minced garlic
  •  1 1/2 Tbs.chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

* I have also added orange pepper and even extra peppers. I’ve made this without beans and with extra beans.


Method

  1. Put crushed tomatoes, black beans, kidney beans, chili peppers, and seasonings to crock pot.
  2. Brown the meat and add to crock pot.
  3. Saute peppers, garlic and onion until soft then add to crock pot.
  4. Simmer in crock pot until ready to serve.
  5. Top with your favorite chili topping like sour cream, cheese, or hot sauce to name a few.


2 thoughts on “Traffic Light Chili

What do you think about this?

