Vegetable Soup

 

This recipe has had quite the journey.  You must let me share it with you.

Quite some time ago, let’s not quantify since that is not the point of the story, I had dinner at Amy’s house.  On the menu was this healthy soup and I was excited to try it.  I am so thankful for my friends that I have; the recipe they normally make was slightly modified from its original and ingredients that I did not like were removed.  They said the original recipe was from Weight Watchers.

The soup was wonderful and I wanted to make it for myself; therefore, I searched for the recipe online and found it.  I further modified the recipe and I want to make note of those changes so if you want to revert you can.  The recipe called for canned clams and canned mushrooms; both of which I simply omitted.  Also, where they called for a beef base, I used V8 Vegetable Juice.  After several slight modifications to the ingredient amounts, I had something good that I could finally repeat.

It just happened that one of my friends fell ill and I took them my variation of the soup recipe.  Not long afterwards, during an outing with a group of friends, the wife of the sick friend asked for the recipe.  Well, the group noticed her excitement over this request and soon they all demanded to have the recipe.

I would also like to share my Vegetable Soup recipe with you as well.  Hope you enjoy it as much as I, my family, and friends do!


Vegetable Soup Recipe

  • Prep time: 20 minutes
  • Cook time: 3 hours
  • Yield: Serves 20 (about 1 cup per)


Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground turkey/lean beef
  • 1-46 0z can V8 Vegetable Juice
  • 28 oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 1-14.5 oz can green beans
  • 1-14.5 oz can waxed beans
  • 1- 14.5 oz can whole corn -OR- two fresh raw ears of corn
  • 1 small head of cabbage
  • 1 cup chopped fresh carrots
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • ½ cup chopped yellow onion
  • 1 Tb Italian seasoning
  • ½ Tb garlic powder


Method

  1. Brown meat and drain fat.
  2. Place all ingredients, except canned vegetables, in a crock pot.  This includes fresh vegetables substituted for canned.
  3. Set crock pot on high for at least 3 hours (keep in mind it’s a crock pot, so if you need longer, it’s ok).
  4. An hour before serving, add canned vegetables (they are already pre-cooked).
  5. Serve hot with the family and leftovers can be frozen for another day.

Additional Notes

If the above ingredients are offered as low sodium, those are the ones I choose.  You can also replace V8 with either homemade tomato juice or Campbell’s tomato juice.  Keep in mind, when a vegetable is in season it can be replaced with the canned version above (e.g., canned corn vs. ear of corn).  Also, I like to have my soup with fresh bread made from my bread machine, but I will share that recipe another day.

How to cut the cabbage.

Cut the corn off the cob.


6 thoughts on “Vegetable Soup

  1. FINALLY!!!!! Yours and Rob’s kitchen skills are more than awesome. Thanks for posting.

    Everyone!!!! I’m not a soup eater, but I have had the pleasure of Deanna making this while I was visiting and it was awesome and filling.

    – Chuck

  2. Pingback: Vegetable Soup | Interesting Concept

What do you think about this?

